Cover: Priest ComposersThe David Watkins Collection

VOLUME XI - 'Priest Composers'
Transcribed for harp David Watkins

ARIA in D Minor - Padre Rafael Angles (1730-1816)
SONATA in F - Padre Narciso Casanovas (1747-1799)

There have been many Priest Composers in the history of music, notably Antonio Vivaldi (1676-1741), but many of the lesser known composers, (often Spanish) wrote delightful music, and, were obviously needed to write religious music for the church. Both Angles and Casanovas were Spanish and show imagination and skill in these keyboard pieces which transcribe so well for the harp and pair well for concert performance. The long melodic line and harmonic sequence in Angel's Aria is both moving and masterful and Casanovas's Sonata, delicious and scintillating.


Volume XI  - RRP £8.00 + p&p

Available on line from Creighton's Collection and all other good harp stores.

Sample of the music


Instrumentation Pedal Harps
Publisher David Watkins / Creighton's Collection
Catalogue No. DW011
ISMN 979-0-57046-018-2
Edition Date September 2010
Score Format A4 Stapled
Duration 2' 40" & 2' 50" minutes
Grade Medium
Price  £8
return to index
©2008-2022 David Watkins. Web site design by Creighton's Collection